Pataphor?


My professor had suggested I use a Pataphor instead of a metaphor in linking eperiential learning and internship experience. So I instantly googled “Pataphor” to find out what it was.

I read about it and read some examples, it still made no sense to me. So I gave up on it for the day as I was confused that a prof. would be asking me to do such a thing.  When I thought of Pataphor I thought of “Alice in Wonderland” and how people can draw the craziest things out of that novel and movie.

Today I figured out that a pataphor is basically something that is on the borderline of logic and complete madness. Take this entry from Wikipedia for example:

“Whereas a metaphor is the comparison of a real object or event with a seemingly unrelated subject in order to emphasize the similarities between the two, the ‘pataphor uses the newly created metaphorical similarity as a reality with which to base itself. In going beyond mere ornamentation of the original idea, the ‘pataphor seeks to describe a new and separate world, in which an idea or aspect has taken on a life of its own.” (Wikipedia)

Really? that’s what a pataphor is, no wonder I had no idea, no one would teach this.

So  Ihave 3 more journals to submit, two are rather short and the last is massive. I will have to attempt to make a pataphor out of what I learned and readings etc. but if it is any worse than making all that into a metaphor it is going to be really awkward making this into a pataphor. Maybe I should look into pataphysics or some of this art, it could help right? :/

Let Me Know What You Think Here

